gomi girl

Gomi is the Japanese word for trash. I love it! Much better than trash picker or dumpster diver, just call me gomi girl. Japan is simply marvelous for trash. I’ll have to have my good friend take a picture of my sister’s china closet, it is simply chock full of gomi-dishes. You see some Japanese believe in bad luck. Every culture has it’s superstitions I suppose. If they break a dish or bowl in a set they simply set out the rest on the trash. The magical things you can find on the gomi pile in Japan is endless.

I used to live in a rather posh part of Philadelphia. As the song goes, albeit about Delancey in NYC, isn’t it fancy on old Delancey? Glorious gomi to be had on and near Delancey Place in this here Philadelphia. I found a framed Dali, a bread machine ( i put it back on the trash after my ex told me it was not a good model), lamps, books, the neatest bookends ( from umbra…will post a pic of them another day) as I still have not figured out a proper use for them!, a great pot for making soup….the list goes on!

In my new digs, the gomi is good on my walk home from my friends house and this winter was excellent for clementine crates. Clementine crates are slowly fading away now, seems lots of companies are making ones from cardboard or just packing them in netting. I love clementine crates! They are perfect for towels, tools, anything really! Plus they stack so well. See pic to see a clementine crate re-purposed as a lovely kitchen towel holder!

I love staring at my new walls and pointing out how much is GOMI!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “gomi girl

  1. I just realized that you, in a way, are my husband’s nemesis. He thinks that using trash (or anything found) is insane. He totally freaks on the subject. Which actually nets me a lot of stuff new. Not a bad husband after all….:)

    Anne

Leave a Reply

